Places of interest
Located north of the Singapore River, in the planning area of Rochor. The name of the area is thought to be derived from the cajeput tree, called “gelam” in Malay. “Kampong” simply means “village”.
The area was owned by an Arab merchant, Syed Ali bin Mohamed Al Junied and that it was the site of an Arab kampong, hence the name Arab Street. The Chinese referred the street as Jiau A Koi Javanese, in the view of the Javanese who used to be the majority inhabitants of the area. Spices, textiles, basketry items and songkoks are sold along this row of shophouses with five-foot way at Arab Street. In Tamil, Arab Street is known as pukadai sadkku (flower shops street), because of shops selling homegrown flowers, lime and other goods sold by Javanese women. In 1889, a huge fire occurred here.
Also known as Masjid Sultan, the impressive Sultan Mosque in historic Kampong Glam is the focal point for Singapore’s Muslim community.
Address: 3 Muscat Street, Singapore 198833
Visiting Hours: Saturday to Thursday: 10.00 AM to 12.00 PM & 2.00 PM to 4.00 PM
Friday: 2.30 PM to 4.00 PM
MRT: From Bugis MRT Station (About 10 mins walk)
From Jalan Besar MRT Station (About 10 mins walk)
Bus: North Bridge Rd : Bus No: 7, 32, 51, 61, 63, 80, 145, 197, 175 & 648
Victoria Street : Bus No: 2, 7, 12, 32, 33, 51, 61, 63, 130, 133, 145, 197 & 175
Beach Road : Bus No: 100, 107, 961 & 980
Aliwal Arts Centre
Aliwal Arts Centre is a multidisciplinary arts centre with a strong focus on performing arts located at the former Chong Cheng and Chong Pun Schools。
Address: 28 Aliwal St, Singapore 199918
Getting there: Opp Textile Centre, Jalan Sultan B01231
Aliwal Urban Art Festival
Aliwal Arts Night Craw
Malabar Muslim Jama’ath Mosque
Address: 473 Victoria Street Singapore 198371
Bus Victoria Street B01211: 61, NR7, 133, 2, 7, 12, 32, 33, 51, 63, 80, 107M, 107, 145, 175, 197, 2A
This landmark along Victoria Street is the only mosque in Singapore built and man-aged by the Malabar Muslim community.
Hailing from the southern state of Kerala, India, the Malabar Muslims were known to have arrived in Singapore by the early 1900s. Most of the early migrants came here without their families, as their primary intention was to make a living here before eventually returning to India. However, the Malabar Muslims began to settle in Singapore over time and send for their families as well.
The Malabar Muslims were mainly involved in running food businesses and provision shops, also known as kaka shops (Malayalam: Elder brother). They congregated largely in the eastern part of Singapore and also had a significant presence in Kampong Glam where they established several food businesses. In 1927, the community formed an association, Malabar Muslim Jama’ath, to look after the interests of the Malabar Muslims in Singapore. The association started in a shophouse in Changi before moving to Bussorah Street sometime later. It was officially registered in 1937.
In the J950s, the community began raising funds to build a mosque on the current site. Donations came in from both Muslims and non-Muslims. The site was originally occupied by another mosque built in the early 1900s, which was demolished to make way for the new building. A. H. Siddique, an immigrant from northern India, was in charge of the design and building and reportedly waived his fees for the task.
The foundation stone for the mosque was laid in 1956 by the Mufti of Johor, Tuan Syed Alwi Adnan. The mosque took some years to complete due to challenges in fund-raising. It was officially opened by the Yang di-Pertuan Negara of Singapore, Inche Yusof bin Ishak (1910-1970) on 24 January 1963.
The mosque soon became the centre for the Malabar Muslim community in Singapore, who gathered there regularly to worship and socialise. The walls of the building were initially painted, but were entirely tiled in its distinctive blue tiles by 1995.
Today, the mosque serves a more diverse communication beyond the Malabar Muslims. Sermons during Friday prayers are conducted in Arabic and translated into several languages.
Golden Mile Tower
Address: 6001 Beach Rd, 199589
Getting there: Saint John Headquarter Bus Stop 100
Golden Mile Complex
Address: 5001 Beach Road, 199588
Getting there: Golden Mile Complex Bus Stop 100
Sri Sivan Temple
Address: 24 Geylang East Ave 2 Singapore 389752
Getting there: Paya Lebar (EW8/CC9) exit C
Singapore Murals and Sculpture
3 Vintage Camera’s Museum
Address: 8C-8D Jln Kledek, Singapore 199263
Getting there: Bus Opp Stamford Primary School B01129: 2, 12, 33, 133
9 Junction of Beach Road and Jalan Sultan
14 Amazing mural covering the entire wall of Piedra Negra along Haji lane, created by Didier Jaba Mathieu (the largest mural in Singapore)
15 El Lío (The Clash) Murals and A lone warrior Murals by Didier Jaba Mathieu at Junction of Ophir Road and Beach Road