Ann Siang Hill was a thriving hub for both commercial and communal activities in the early days, many rich Chinese and traits Chinese businessman lived on the hill or in its vicinity. on festive occasions, these businessmen commissioned public performances such as Chinese operas or dragon dances. Ann Siang hill was named after Chia Ann Siang, a rich hokkien merchant, he was born in Malacca in 1932, at 16 years of age, he found employment with a British firm, Boustead & Company, whose core business was in the trade of natural resources – spices, coconut, tobacco, tin, tea and silk along the china-Europe trade routes. He eventually left the company and ventured into the timber business. he became a partner of Geok Teat and Company in 1863. After he became one of the most successful merchants of his time, he acquired both Ann Siang Hill and Mount Erskine.
Place of interest
Nagore Dargah Indian Muslim Heritage Centre
Address: 140 Telok Ayer St, Singapore 068604
The beautiful peach-and-white limestone façade of the Nagore Dargah Indian Muslim Heritage Centre can be seen at the junction of Boon Tat Street. The building, formerly known as the Nagore Dargah shrine, was built between 1828 and 1830 by South Indian immigrants to thank saint Shahul Hameed for their safe arrival in Singapore. The building reopened as a heritage centre in 2011
Singapore Yu Huang Gong Temple
Address: 150 Telok Ayer St, Singapore 068608
The Singapore Yu Huang Gong Temple was constructed by the Keng Teck Whay Association, a clan of Hokkien Peranakan merchants. Initially named the Keng Teck Whay Building, it housed a members-only club, but was taken over by the Taoist Mission (Singapore) in 2010. Its name was then changed to the current one, which translates to Temple of the Heavenly Jade Emperor. The temple was opened to the public in 2015 after a two-year restoration.
Thian Hock Keng Temple
Address: 158 Telok Ayer Street Singapore 068613
Built in 1840, Thian Hock Keng (or “Temple of Heavenly Blessings”) has the distinction of being one the oldest Chinese temple in Singapore. Chinese migrants used the temple to thank Mazu, Goddess of the Seas, for their safe voyage to Singapore.
Address: 192 Telok Ayer St, Singapore 068635
The Al-Abrar Mosque started out as a thatched hut in 1827 before being rebuilt in 1855 to its current brick building. Its most distinctive features are the two octagonal minarets positioned on either side of the main entrance. Besides being a place of worship, the mosque served as a meeting place and social venue for the Chulia immigrants from South India.
Telok Ayer Chinese Methodist Church
Address: 235 Telok Ayer Street, Singapore 068656
Towards the southern bend of the street stands the Telok Ayer Chinese Methodist Church, the oldest Chinese-speaking Methodist church in Singapore, which found its new home at Telok Ayer Street in 1913, and opened its doors in 1925. The building is one of the more eclectic ones in the area, with the red ornate roof representing the mostly Chinese congregation that gathered here, while the European-style arches and crosses on the columns mark it out as a church building.