Estimate 36-37 km 4 to 5 hours 估计 36-37 公里 4 至 5 小时
Difficulty 难度： Normal 中等
Screenshot from Street Directory 街道目录截图
Yishun Ave 2
- Khatib MRT station (starting point)
Jalan Ulu Sembawang
Woodlands Avenue 12
Woodlands Avenue 10
- Sun Plaza, 30 Sembawang Drive Singapore 757713
- Durban Road Bunker near 291 Durban Rd, Singapore 759636
St John’s Rd
- Bermuda Road Bunkers, opposite 250A Bermuda Road, Singapore 759821
Admiralty Road East
- king’s ave bunker apposite 143 Queen’s Ave, Singapore 758598
St. Helena Road
- Gibraltar Crescent Bunker structure opposite 158 Gibraltar Crescent, Singapore 759589
- Malta Crescent Bunker right next to Sembawang Car Park 2
- Beaulieu House, 117 Beaulieu Road, Singapore 759837
- Right at the end of Sembawang Park, there stands a bungalow. Little is known about its origins other than it was built as a seaside retreat probably around the 1910s by a family of the surname David.
- When construction of the Singapore Naval Base began in the 1920s, the house was acquired by the British colonial government. It became the residence for senior engineers when the base was being built, and was later occupied by senior naval officers. For two years, from 1940 to 1942, Admiral Geoffrey Layton (1884-1964), who was the Commander-in-Chief for Britain’s China station then, stayed at the house. After World War II (1939-1945), the house was occupied by Senior Fleet Officers. It is not known when or why the building was named Beaulieu house. Beaulieu is the name of a number of sites in England and it is likely that the name is taken from one of them. The house stands out with its use of Victorian-styled iron work and Neo-Classical plaster details. On 8 April 2005, Beaulieu House was granted conservation status by the Urban Redevelopment Authority. Today, it is occupied by a restaurant.
- Sembawang Tree at Sembawang Park (Car Park 1)
- Sembawang area is named after the Sembawang tree (Mesua ferruginea)? The tree grows along streams and flowing rivers in forests, and its flowers are pollinated by insects.
- Most of the streets here are named after the Malay terms for common fish and plants found in Sembawang.
- Streets named after fish
- Jalan Mempurong: Herring
- Jalan Selimang: Barb
- Jalan Inggu: Tomato clownfish, the orange coral fish.
- Kerong Walk and Lane: Crescent perch
- Streets named after plants
- Jalan Janggus: Cashew nut tree.
- Jalan Kandis: Wild mangosteen
- Jalan Machang: Horse mango, which tastes similar to the mango
- Jalan Sankam: From ‘saka’, a kindof turmeric plant.
- Jalan Kerayong: A tree known for its bark which has medicinal properties
- Jalan Basong: A tree which latex is used for sores and skin ailments, and the plant is also good for lowering fever and expelling parasites from the intestines.
• Masjid Petempatan Melayu Sembawang, 27B Jln Mempurong, Singapore 759055
• Set in a secondary forest, this mosque along Jalan Mempurong was completed in 1963 as a place of worship for the Malay Muslims staying in Sembawang.
• Before the mosque was built, Muslims living in kampungs nearby had to pray at suraus (Malay: small prayer house) or at the former Masjid Jumah Sembawang along Sembawang Road. In the early 1960s, funds were raised to build a mosque here. One of the biggest contributions came from Lee Foundation, which donated $10,000. When the mosque was completed, it was named Masjid Kampung Tengah, after the kampung it was located in.
• In 1960, the area along the coast was populated by the Malay community. This area was known as the Malay Settlement or ‘Petempatan Melayu Sembawang’. The mosque was later renamed after the settlement as Masjid Petempatan Malayu Sembawang. For many years, it served as the social and religious centre of neighbouring Malay kampungs. Important rituals were carried out here, such as the cukur rambut (Malay: shaving of newborns’ hair) and weddings.
• Extensive renovation works were carried out in 1984 and further upgrading was undertaken in 2007 for eight months before it re-opened in April 2008. Near the entrance, a tall rubber tree stands, the last one remaining from former rubber plantations here. Residents believed that there is a resident pirit in the tree as attempts to fell the tree have failed.
Yishun Avenue 2
- Holy Tree Sri Balasubramaniar Temple, 10 Yishun Industrial Park A, Singapore 768772
- In April 1962, on the eve of Ponggal (Hindu harvest festival), a Hindu naval worker by the name of P. Karuppiah had a dream about Hindu deity, Lord Muruga, and a golden cobra under an elantha (jujube) tree. Upon waking, he found the tree of his dream near Canberra Road, with an anthill under it. Interpreting it as a divine sign, he built an altar and placed a spear and pictures of several Hindu deities, including Lord Muruga, below the tree.
- Hindu workers at the Naval Base began worshipping at the shrine. Upon appeal by the devotees, the British granted the land for religious use. In 1964, the shrine was officially registered as Punithamaram Sree Balasubramaniar Temple and a temple was built. ‘Punithamaram’ means ‘Holy Tree’, in reference to the elantha tree, and ‘Sree Balasubramaniar’ is another name of Lord Muruga. The Hindu community raised funds for the temple’s construction, and the British contributed building materials and support in logistics.
- The temple soon became the spiritual and community centre for Hindus living in Sembawang. Marriages nd naming ceremonies for new-borns were held here. The temple also organised activities such as devotional singing classes.
- In the 1990s, the temple had to relocate to make way for Sembawang New Town. It moved to Yishun Industrial Park in 1996 and the new temple building was consecrated in 1999. Today, it is registered as Holy Tree Sri Bala Subramaniar Temple.
Yishun Ave 7
- Sembawang Hot Spring Park
Yishun Ave 3
Yishun Ring Road
- Khatib MRT station (Ending point)
Cycling, Hiking & Walking (Singapore) 骑行、远足和步行 (新加坡)